Netflix doesn’t want you to lose your viewing history and recommendation algorithm when you’re no longer part of a family account.
The tool was tested in select countries, including Peru.
Netflix is trying to “help” users who are forced to create a new account with what they have called “profile transfer”.
With this tool, users who use extra profiles and want (or are forced) to have their own account will be able to submit their recommendations, viewing history, titles saved in My list, saved games, subtitle appearance and other settings.
By the time you’re done with your boyfriend
The feature will roll out to all users starting Monday after Netflix initially tested it in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru. Profile transfers will be automatically enabled in all countries except South Korea and the US.
The reasons are more than obvious. It can be used in the event that users who share the same account with a roommate, partner or parents, separate. But it can also be useful when Netflix discovers that unrelated people are sharing accounts and forces the intruders to create their own account.
Netflix has estimated that more than 100 million households access the service through shared accounts.
How does it work?
Users will know that the tool is available for their accounts when a message arrives in their emails.
After that, you will be able to access the ‘Transfer Profile’ option from the drop-down menu that appears when you hover over your profile icon on the home page. From there, it’s a matter of following the instructions to set up a new account.
Mind you, it’s not clear if you’ll be able to transfer your profile to an existing account.