Entertainment Weekly has published a photo of Scream 6 that portrays the new Ghostface with a mask clearly ruined.


as if it were old and worn by time: a novelty for this saga, where each incarnation of the killer sported a brand new mask.

Tyler Gillett , co-director with Matt Bettinelli-Olpin , explained:

Everything will make sense in the context that you see in the film. It is part of the interesting creative risks and approaches of this film. It’s meta in a different way, and the mask has to do with that.

Bettinelli-Olpin added:

It was not an arbitrary choice.

Furthermore, Gillett spoke of the absence of Neve Campbell , who withdrew from the film – for the first time in the history of this saga – because she was dissatisfied with her salary.

We love Neve, and we’re big fans of Sidney Prescott, but we felt there was an opportunity to dig into these new characters, and I think audiences will be very surprised and pleased with how well the film did in that respect. This film has been a part of our lives for some time now, but we are still amazed at how rich, interesting and deep the relationship between the four characters is.

As we know, the survivors of the fifth chapter “leave Woodsboro behind and begin a new chapter of their lives”, this time in New York City, to study. The release is expected for March 9, 2023 in Italian cinemas.

You can see the image below.

The picture

The cast

The cast includes Courteney Cox ( Gale Weathers ), Melissa Barrera ( Sam Carpenter , Jenna Ortega ( Tara Carpenter ), Mason Gooding ( Chad Meeks-Martin ), Jasmin Savoy Brown ( Mindy Meeks-Martin ), Hayden Panettiere ( Kirby Reed ), Dermot Mulroney , Jack Champion , Liana Liberato , Devyn Nekoda , Josh Segarra , Henry Czerny , Samara Weaving and Tony Revolori.

The screenplay

The screenplay is again by James Vanderbilt ( Zodiac, The Amazing Spider-Man ) and Guy Busick ( Till death do us part, Castle Rock ).

Scream in the cinema and on TV

The saga has so far five cinematic chapters: the first four were directed by Wes Craven , while the screenplays are almost all by Kevin Williamson (the creator of Dawson’s Creek ), apart from the third film, written by Ehren Kruger . The fifth installment was instead directed by Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett .

The franchise transitioned to the small screen in 2015, in an MTV series that ran for two seasons. A third season – actually unrelated to the previous two – aired in 2019 on VH1.